so beautiful.
Cornelius Floyd...the boy who went unnoticed November 10, 2003
The yearbook picture of him, haunts me every time I glance at it from time to time when I wish to look back upon my precious memories. The memory of the day when I found out a total stranger died, by some inconsiderate fool still flashes through my mind from time to time.

I was sitting in my 4th grade class, and the administrators said it over the announcements. I did not hear what they said at first, since the chatter of children was loud and deafening. Finally, my teacher at the time, Ms. Brown told us what had happened.

I wonder what it would have been like to know him. If I would have just pushed my fourth grade self to get to know everyone instead of being shy and withdrawn to the world around me.

His death was one of those tragic ones that are on the news for days. He was hit by a car�a hit and run driver. I�m pretty sure they eventually found the culprit, but pretty sure isn�t too definite.

For days everyone talked about his death. How he died, who he was friends with, how he was on the news�my whole 4th grade class had gone into a state of awe that someone our age could actually die.

I wondered what kind of person would do such a thing. How could someone just kill an innocent and wonderful 9 year old?

It scared me. What if that happened to me? What if I was riding my bike without a helmet, just like him, and I got hit by a car? Who would miss me�who would I miss?

I looked in my yearbook today, and I saw his attractive face smiling back at me. The sharp sense of tears pricked my eyes. I wished I had gotten to know him.

I smiled down at the picture, matching the equivalence of his smile.

His name was Cornelius Floyd. I never knew him, I never talked to him. I never even knew he was alive, until the day he died.

Today, or some time near here, if I remember correctly, is the anniversary of his death.

Rest in peace, Cornelius. You are missed.

-danielley


previous - next

� Danielley

Index
Archives
Profile
Extras
Contacts
So pretty
Diaryland

miz graphics!