so beautiful.
Untitled. July 10, 2004
I only met him once. Holly and I wrote him a letter in 8th grade. We wrote to him in pink and purple gel pens and we had Bethany send it to him.

The one time I remember meeting him was at our school football game. He was visiting Bethany and her family and I finally got to meet him. He was the nicest guy you could ever meet. He was really nice to me, and he was super funny. There was this aura around him that just made you smile.

Just by my first impression, he seemed like a selfless person. When I was being driven back home by Bethany�s dad, Bethany, her brother, myself and him had to sit in the back seat. He willingly had Bethany�s little brother sit upon his lap, without hesitation.

I remember his smile the most. He seemed so happy.

A couple of days ago, Scott Dougherty, was killed in Iraq. Scott, only a 20 year-old marine, one of my good friend Bethany's cousin, is dead. He gave his life for his country and even though I only met him once, I couldn�t be prouder.

I will be going to the funeral once he is sent back to the United States. I want to be there for Bethany, and say good-bye myself. He made an impact on my life, and even though it wasn�t huge, he made an impact. He taught me how to have faith in my country. Before, I hadn�t cared much, but now I do. He showed me that he was willing to give his life, so I should have the utmost pride.

He also showed me that life is too short to worry about the simple things. I owe him.

Sometimes the greatest people you will ever meet, are too great to be in this world for very long.


previous - next

� Danielley

Index
Archives
Profile
Extras
Contacts
So pretty
Diaryland

miz graphics!