so beautiful.
When you wish upon a star...POY March 09, 2004
Inspired by: POY

�Like from child hood fantasies, we can still lose ourselves in the stars. What do you wish for when you wish upon a star?�

Up until this year, I had one of those lives that everyone had to envy. I don�t mean to sound conceited, but I did. I had the perfect family, the riches, the status at school, and I had the best friends a gal could ever wish for.

Breann, the girl I constantly fought with. But we always ended up being almost like sisters.

Cassie, the girl that I understood. We were too much alike to not understand one another.

Holly, my opposite. Probably the best friend I ever had. We cancelled each other out perfectly. She was tall, I was short. She was mean, I was nice. Opposites attract, I guess you could say.

Nothing could surpass the life I had then. Sure, there were the ups and downs, but in the end, everything went all �Happily Ever After�, until April 14, 2003.

That was the day everything fell apart. That was the day I cried for hours. That was the day, Breann moved away.

Two months after that, I had to watch Holly drive away in a small town in North Carolina.

A month after that I had to see Cassie leave me behind, imitating the sequence.

A lot happened after they moved. I got sick, I became addicted to the medication I was taking, fights occurred, failing in school. My life, as I knew it, took a downfall that I am still recovering from.

Five nights ago I was sitting the my dads car coming home from a basketball game, where I had to sit by myself and feel the loneliness creep once more.

I stared out the window and saw the north star, and I whispered,

�Star light, star bright. First star I see tonight. Wish I may, wish I might. Have this wish, I wish tonight. I usually don�t ask for much, Mr. Star. I don�t often wish upon a star, but I need you now. I desperately need one thing�hope. Life for me, as I know it, hasn�t been the best, and I�ve dealt with it for a year coming up in April. I just need hope. Hope that everything will get better. Hope that the relationships with my friends will stay strong and true. Hope that I will survive through this. Hope.�

And then, the day after, I realized something. Something that changed my outlook on life completely. I had thought my life should be perfect, the way it used to be, but change had to occur. Change had to happen or I wouldn�t really be living at all.

Without suffering there is no compassion. I finally realized hope had been there all along.

Everything will get better.

My friendships will stay strong.

And I will survive through this.

I will not let myself down or anyone else.

When you wish upon a star, I guess your wishes really do come true.


previous - next

� Danielley

Index
Archives
Profile
Extras
Contacts
So pretty
Diaryland

miz graphics!